About Us

About Us

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta was set up in 2000 by the Department of Education with the

following aims:

  1. To promote, facilitate and encourage Irish-medium Education and Irish-medium schools;
  2. To do this in a planned, educationally efficient and cost-effective way.

Our Vision

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta’s vision for the Irish-medium sector is;

A network of vibrant, viable Irish-medium schools, from pre-school to post-primary, providing excellence in education, at the heart of developing Irish Language communities.

Our Mission

To contribute to the development of vibrant Irish-speaking communities by ensuring access to high quality Irish-medium education to those who desire it.

What do we do?

  1. Assist parents who wish to establish Irish-medium provision in their area;
  2. Plan for the creation of new Irish-medium schools;
  3. Promote standards of good practice in Irish-medium Education schools;
  4. Co-ordinate the activities of all those involved in Irish-medium Education;
  5. Represent the Irish-medium Education sector at all levels;
  6. Promote Irish-medium Education to the Dept of Education, Education Authority, Council for Catholic Maintained Schools, CCEA and other bodies;
  7. Provide advice, assistance and information in relation to Irish-medium Education to those who need it and to groups seeking to establish Irish-medium schools and units.

How do we do this?

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta promotes Irish-medium Education in the community, encourages parents to establish Irish-medium provision, and endeavours to ensure children have access to Irish-medium Education at pre-school, primary and post-primary level.

Where do we get our funding?

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta receives a grant from the Department of Education for staff salaries, administration costs and the implementation of an annual plan.

Who works for us?

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta currently employs 10 core staff: Chief Executive; Senior Policy and Advocacy Officer; Senior Education Support Officer;  Senior Development Support Officer;  Senior Officer for Finance, Administration and Personnel; 3 Advisory Officers and 2 Clerical  Officers.

Who is on the Board of Directors?

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta has a board of 14 voluntary directors. Each director is nominated by an organisation with an interest in Irish-medium Education. The current Chairperson and nominating groups are listed below. 

Chairperson: Seosamh Ó Coinne

Nominating Groups:

Altram – Áine Andrews 

An Chomhairle um Oideachas Gaeltachta agus Gaelscolaíochta (COGG) – Jacqueline Ní Fhearghusa

Comhairle na Gaelscolaíochta (x 2)

Council for Catholic Maintained Schools – Paul O’Doherty 

Department of Education (x 2) – Nuala Toman

Foras na Gaeilge – Seosamh Ó Coinne

NISC – Thomas Rogan

Pre-school Sector – Ciarán McCallan

Primary Sector – Orla Flanagan

Post Primary Sector – Diarmaid Ua Bruadair

Parent Representative – Pádraig Ó Mianain

Governor Representative – Niall Ó Catháin

Find your nearest school


Website designed by Visionworks Interactive